Today’s Sports Stat: December 9, 2017

San Antonio Spurs guard Bryan Forbes earlier this week had a game where he attempted five three-pointers and made all of them. He became the fifth NBA player this season to go five-for-five in three-point attempts in a game.

The NBA record for most three-pointers attempted in a game without a miss is nine. Ben Gordon did it twice, while Latrell Sprewell also accomplished this feat once. Four players went eight-for-eight in three-point attempts in a game: Michael Finley, Jeff Hornacek, Sam Perkins and Steve Smith.

There have been 76 NBA games since 1983-84 where a player took six or more three-point shots and made all of them. Two players, Raja Bell and Sam Perkins, did it three times in their careers, while nine players did it twice in their careers (Mike Bibby, Chauncey Billips, Caron Butler, Ben Gordon, Kyrie Irving, Chuck person, Wesley Person, Mickael Pietrus and Steve Smith).

The last player to attempt six of more three-pointers in a regular season game and make all of them was Memphis’ Vince Carter in a game last March against the Bucks; Carter went six-for-six from the three-point line in that game.

Players going six-for-six (or better) from the three-point line in a playoff game have happened three times; Robert Horry went seven-for-seven for the Lakers in a 1997 playoff contest… Trevor Ariza was six-for-six for Washington in a 2014 post-season game… and Peja Stojakovic was also six-for-six in three-pointers in a 2011 playoff game for the Mavericks.



Stats on Tapp


Today’s Sports Stat: December 8, 2017

Is it possible that the reason the New England Patriots have been so successful over the past several years is because opposing team kickers have found Gillett Stadium tough to kick in? Before you answer that, consider this:

From the 2010 NFL season until Week #13 of this year, opposing field goal kickers have made 76.1 percent of field goal attempts at the Patriots’ Gillett Stadium, lowest percentage of any opposing field goal kickers in an NFL stadium.

Here’s a look at the opposing team field goal percentages at each NFL team’s home field from 2010 until Week #13 of this season.

New England 76.1
Arizona 78.4
Miami 78.5

San Francisco 80.2
Tampa Bay 80.3
Rams 80.7
Washington 80.8
Cleveland 81.3
Green Bay 81.5
Philadelphia 81.9

Pittsburgh 81.9
Indianapolis 82.0
Oakland 82.4
Detroit 82.7
Chicago 83.5
Houston 83.5
Denver 83.9
Kansas City 83.9
Baltimore 84.3
Buffalo 84.6
Seattle 84.8
Chargers 85.6
New Orleans 85.7
Dallas 85.8
Jacksonville 86.2
Cincinnati 86.3
New York Jets 86.3
Tennessee 87.3
Minnesota 88.6
Carolina 88.9
Atlanta 88.8

New York Giants 90.5

There could be a lot of factors involved in why the Patriots’ opponents have the worst field goal percentage on New England’s home field… it could be the weather conditions, it could be the way the Pats’ special teams defend the attempted field goals of the opposition. It could be that Patriot opponents attempts more “longer” field goals.

In any case, I’ll just let the numbers speak for themselves. Any thoughts?


Stats on Tapp

Today’s Sports Stat: December 7, 2017

Giannis Antetokounmpo scored 25 points on his 23rd birthday last night leading the Bucks to a 104-100 win over the Detroit Pistons.

Now that Giannis has reached his 23rd birthday, we can take a look back at how his NBA career looks prior to turning 23… and how it compares to other NBA players who had success in the league prior to turning 23.

Giannis had:

  • … 5,364 points, ninth most career points by an NBA player before his 23rd birthday. LeBron James tops the list with 9,188 points before his 23rd birthday.
  • … 2,407 rebounds, eighth most among players before the age of 23. Dwight Howard tops the list with 4,303 rebounds.
  • … 1,230 assists, 15th in that stat category before turning 23. James tops this list with 2,231 assists.
  • … 394 steals, ninth most before turning 23. James tops this list with 603 steals.
  • … 445 blocked shots, tenth most before age 23. Josh Smith tops the list with 797.
  • … 10,886 minutes played, fifth most played before his 23rd birthday. James tops the list with 14,067.

Antetokounmpo is one of only 14 NBA players with 300 or more career games played prior to turning 23. He also ranks tied for fourth on the list of most triple-doubles by a player prior to his 23rd birthday with eight. Magic Johnson had 19, followed by LeBron with 14, Giannis’ coach, Jason Kidd, with 11, and Alvan Adams also with eight.

It’s interesting to note that Giannis is one of only three NBA players to have scored 5,000 points, grabbed 2,000 rebounds and hand-out 1,000 assists before turning 23. The others: LeBron and Tracy McGrady. If we add steals and blocked shots to the above three stats, Giannis is one of only two players in history (the other is McGrady) to have 5,000 points, 2,000 rebounds, 1,000 assists, 300 steals and 300 blocked shots before turning 23.

Giannis is certainly making a case as one of the top players in the NBA, but based on his stats above, we can confidently say today, the day after his 23rd birthday, that he has been one of the greatest players in the league prior to blowing out 23 candles on his birthday cake. It’s not too far-fetched to say that no one other than LeBron has had an impact on the NBA prior to turning 23 like Giannis.



Stats on Tapp

Today’s Sports Stat: December 6, 2017

In the 16 NFL games in last week’s Week #13, the home team had the lead at halftime in 12 of those games. The home teams eventually won 10 of those 12 games, with the Chicago Bears and Cincinnati Bengals the only two home teams to lose after having the lead at halftime.

Since 2010, NFL home teams are 818-203-2 (.801 winning percentage) in games when they have the lead at halftime. Six teams have won over 90 percent of such games in that time frame… The New England Patriots are 45-1 (.978) since 2010 in home games when they have led their opponents at halftime. They are followed by Green Bay (.953), Seattle (.944), Denver (.938), Pittsburgh (.902) and Arizona (.900).

As you might expect, the Cleveland Browns are last in this stat category. The Brownies have a .556 winning percentage in home games when they lead the opposition at halftime.



Stats on Tapp

Today’s Sports Stat: December 5, 2017

Charlotte Hornets point guard Kemba Walker made all 14 of his free throw attempts in his team’s win over Orlando on Monday night. It was the second time in his career that he attempted 14 or more free throws in a game and made all of them. Walker was the fifth player to accomplish this feat this year; James Harden and Damian Lilliard have each done it twice.

Since 1963-64, a total of 452 players have attempted 14 or more free throws in a game and made all of them. Kevin Martin tops the list with 12 such games, followed by Kobe Bryant, James Harden and Jerry West, each with 10 games where they attempted 14 or more free throws and made all of them.

Dominique Wilkins holds the league mark since 1963-64 with the most free throw attempts by a player who made all of them. He was 23-for-23 in a December 8, 1992 game between his Atlanta Hawks and the Chicago Bulls. Five other players have attempted 20 or more free throws and made all of them in a game: Kevin Durant (2013) and Deron Williams (2012), each were 21-for-21… and Kobe Bryant (2009), Richard Hamilton (2004) and A’mare Stoudemire (2008), each were 20-for-20.



Stats on Tapp