Daily Archives: May 5th, 2013

Brewers teammates Carlos Gomez and Jean Segura sitting in N.L. batting Top 5

Carlos Gomez

(Photo credit: Steve Paluch)

Sports Stats ‘on Tapp’ is a sports statistics blog published with a focus on stats that go beyond the numbers.

There isn’t much good to say about the Milwaukee Brewers recent four games against the St. Louis Cardinals, so let’s look at something positive: the batting prowess of Carlos Gomez and Jean Segura.

Gomez is leading the National League in batting with a .368 batting average. (Trivia question: Can you name the last Milwaukee Brewers player to win a batting crown? Answer at the end of the column.) Teammate Segura is sitting in fourth place in the batting race with a .333 average. If you would have said that two Brewers would be in the Top 5 of the N .L. batting race in early May, chances are Gomez and Segura probably would not have the been the two players you would have suspected.

The season is a long ways from being complete, but let’s dream a little. If Gomez and Segura should end the season in the Top 5 of the batting race, they would be the first Brewers teammates in the Top 5 since 1991 when Willie Randolph (.327, third place) and Paul Molitor (.325, fifth place) finished in the Top 5. Other Brewers teammates to finish in the league batting Top 5 at the end of a season: 1984 (Robin Yount .331, second place; Cecil Cooper .313, fifth place) and 1973 (George Scott (.306, second place) and Davey May (.303, fifth place).

Let’s expand the parameters a little; here’s a look at the Brewers teammates who finished in the Top 10 of the league batting race in a season.

Season, teammates

2009: Ryan Braun (.320, seventh place) and Felipe Lopez (.310, ninth place)
1991: Willie Randolph (.327, third place) and Paul Molitor (.325, fifth place)
1989: Robin Yount (.318, fourth place) and Molitor (.315, sixth place)
1988: Molitor (.312, fifth place) and Yount (.306, tenth place)
1987: Molitor (.353, second place) and Yount (.312, tenth place)
1983: Ted Simmons (.308, ninth place) and Yount (.308, tenth place)
1982: Yount (.331, second place), Cecil Cooper (.313, fifth place) and Molitor (.302, tenth place)
1979: Molitor (.322, sixth place) and Sixto Lezcano (.321, seventh place)
1973: George Scott (.306, second place) and Davey May (.303, fifth place)

Trivia answer: The Brewers have never had a batting champion. They have, however, had five players who finished runner-up in the batting race: George Scott (1973), Cecil Cooper (1980), Robin Yount (1982), Paul Molitor (1987) and Ryan Braun (2011).

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp