Falling one game short of the Super Bowl

NFL playoff game

The AFC and NFC Championship games are set with the San Francisco 49ers traveling to Seattle to face the Seahawks and the New England Patriots venturing out to Denver to face the Broncos.

Falling one game short of making the Super Bowl is a tremendous loss for any NFL team. Since the 1966 season when the Super Bowl made its debut, the Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders franchise has been the NFL team that has been disappointed the most when it comes to falling one game short of the big game. The Raiders have lost nine championship games, most during this timeframe. Should the 49ers fall short in their contest with the Seahawks, they would tie the Raiders for most Championship game losses in the Super Bowl era.

Following are the NFL teams that have lost two or more conference championship games since the 1966 season, thus missing out on an opportunity to play in the Super Bowl.

Team Championship Game losses since 1966 season
Oakland/L.A. Raiders 9

Dallas Cowboys 8
San Francisco 49ers 8

Pittsburgh Steelers 7

St.Louis/L.A. Rams 6

Cleveland Browns 5
Minnesota Vikings 5

Philadelphia Eagles 4
Tennessee Titans/Houston Oilers 4
New York Jets 4

Chicago Bears 3
Indianapolis/Baltimore Colts 3
San Diego Chargers 3

Atlanta Falcons 2
Baltimore Ravens 2
Buffalo Bills 2
Carolina Panthers 2
Denver Broncos 2
Green Bay Packers 2
Jacksonville Jaguars 2
Miami Dolphins 2
New England Patriots 2
Tampa Bay Bucs 2

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: