Second Annual NFL “Takeo” Honors: 2013 top performances by players not in the playoffs


Each year, 12 of the NFL’s 32 teams get a chance to play in the playoffs. Names like Aaron Rodgers, Peyton Manning, Tom Brady, Drew Brees, Wes Welker and Marshawn Lynch punctuated the rosters of the 12 playoff teams in 2013. But for the other 20 teams and their players, the off-season began once that 16th game was finished. Unfortunately, what gets lost when the playoffs start is the performances of some of those players whose teams didn’t make the post-season.

To honor those players on the 20 teams that did not make the 2013 NFL playoffs, I’ve created an honor to recognize the top performances from their seasons. In honor of Takeo Spikes, the San Diego Chargers linebacker who played 219 NFL regular season games without playing in the playoffs, I present the second annual “Takeo” Honors. These honors are presented to the players from non-playoff teams who topped the list in 19 different statistical categories.

(Numbers for each of the statistical categories are based on only those players whose teams did not make the playoffs. The number noted in parenthesis is where they player ranked in that category in the league.)

2013 NFL “Takeo” Honors

Most passing TDs: Tony Romo, Dallas, 31 (5th)
Highest Passer Rating: Josh McCown, Chicago, 109.0 (3rd)

Most rushing yards: Matt Forte, Chicago, 1339 (2nd)
Most rushing TDs: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota, 10 (4th tie)

Most receptions: Pierre Garcon, Washington, 113 (1st)
Most receiving TDs: Dez Bryant, Dallas, 13 (3rd tie)

Most points scored (non-kicker): Dez Bryant, Dallas, 78 (5th tie)
Most points scored (kicker): Justin Tucker, Baltimore, 140 (6th)

Most field goals made: Justin Tucker, Baltimore, 38 (1st tie)

Most sacks: Robert Quinn, St. Louis, 19 (2nd)
Most tackles: Paul Posluszny, Jacksonville, 121 (2nd)
Most interceptions: DeAndre Levy, Detroit and Antrel Rolle, NY Giants, 6 each (2nd tie)
Fumbles recovered: Four ties with 3
Fumbles forced: Robert Quinn, St. Louis, 7 (2nd)

Highest average per punt: Marquette King, Oakland, 48.9 (1st)

Highest yards per kickoff return (min. of 16 returns): Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota, 32.4 (1st)
Highest yards per punt return (min. of 16 returns): Tandon Doss, Baltimore, 15.6 (3rd)

Most yards from scrimmage: Matt Forte, Chicago, 1933 (3rd)
Most all-purpose yards: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota, 2020 (2nd)

2013 NFL “Takeo” Honors Player of the Year: My selection for the Takeo Honors POY is St. Louis Rams defensive end Robert Quinn. Quinn finished second in the league with 19 sacks and was second with most forced fumbles. He won the Pro Football Writers of America Defensive Player of the Year Award and finished fourth in the AP voting for the same honor.

Other players considered for the “Takeo” POY were Matt Forte (Chicago running back), Justin Tucker (Baltimore placekicker) and Cordarrelle Patterson (Minnesota receiver/kick returner).

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: