Will Portland and Toronto finally win an NBA playoff series?


The Portland Trailblazers have a 2-1 series lead over the Houston Rockets in the first round of the NBA playoffs. For the Blazers, a win over Houston would give them their first playoff series win since 2000. Entering this year’s playoffs, this was the longest drought for a playoff series win in the NBA.

Another of this year’s playoff teams, the Toronto Raptors, have not won a playoff series since 2001. The Raptors are currently down one game to two in their series against the Brooklyn Nets.

Three teams who did not make the playoffs this year have won gone a decade (or more) since winning a playoff series. The Milwaukee Bucks have not won a playoff series since 2001; the Minnesota Timberwolves and Sacramento Kings have not won a series in the post-season since 2004.

Of the eight teams that won at least one playoff series last season, all except one (the New York Knicks) made the playoffs this year.

Following are the last years in which each NBA team last won a playoff series.

Last year winning a playoff series, team(s)
2000: Portland
2001: Milwaukee, Toronto
2004: Minnesota, Sacramento
2005: Charlotte (have never won a playoff series in franchise history), Washington
2007: Brooklyn
2008: Detroit, New Orleans
2009: Denver, Houston
2010: Cleveland, Orlando, Phoenix, Utah
2011: Atlanta, Dallas,
2012: Boston, L.A. Clippers, L.A. Lakers, Philadelphia
2013: Chicago, Golden State, Indiana, Memphis, Miami, New York, Oklahoma City, San Antonio

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: