90 losses in an MLB season


Eight MLB teams in 2016 finished the season with 90 or more losses. Of those eight, four did it for the second straight year: Atlanta, Cincinnati, Oakland and Philadelphia.

Of the other four teams, Tampa Bay last had a 90-loss season in 2007; San Diego last lost 90 in 2011; and Arizona and Minnesota both last lost 90 games in 2014.

In looking at the other 22 MLB teams, it’s interesting to note that three of those teams, Angels, Yankees and Cardinals, have not lost 90 or more games in a season in the 21st century. In fact, the Cards have the longest time since a 90-loss season… the last time they lost 90 games was in 1990.

Following is a look at the last time each of the 30 current MLB franchises lost 90 games in a campaign.

1990: St. Louis Cardinals

1991: New York Yankees

1999: Los Angeles Angels

2004: Toronto Blue Jays

2005: Detroit Tigers, Los Angeles Dodgers

2008: San Francisco Giants

2009: New York Mets

2010: Washington Nationals

2011: Baltimore Orioles, Pittsburgh Pirates

2012: Cleveland Indians, Kansas City Royals

2013: Chicago Cubs, Chicago White Sox, Seattle Mariners

2014: Boston Red Sox, Houston Astros, Texas Rangers

2015: Colorado Rockies, Miami Marlins, Milwaukee Brewers

2016: Arizona Diamondbacks, Atlanta Braves, Cincinnati Reds, Minnesota Twins, Oakland A’s, Philadelphia Phillies, San Diego Padres, Tampa Bay Rays



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: