Daily Archives: July 2nd, 2017

Today’s Sports Stat-July 2, 2017



The MLB All-Star Game will be held on Tuesday, July 11 with the Home Run Derby (HRD) scheduled for the previous night.

There have been 32 winners of the HRD since it began in 1985. Ken Griffey, Jr. holds the event record by winning the title three times. Six different teams have had one of their players win the HRD title three times: Chicago Cubs, Cincinnati, L.A. Angels, New York Yankees, Oakland and Seattle.

Eighteen of the 30 MLB teams have had at least one of their players win a HRD crown. The 12 teams that have not had one of their players win a HRD are: Atlanta, Cleveland, Colorado, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles Dodgers, Pittsburgh, St. Louis, San Diego, Tampa Bay, Toronto and Washington.