Today’s Sports Stat-July 20, 2017



The Open (British Open golf tournament) begins play today.

The last four winners of this event were first-time winners: Henrik Stenson, Zach Johnson, Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson. Ernie Els was the last multiple-time winner; he won his second title in 2012 after winning the event in 2002.

There have been four golfers who have been a runner-up twice at The Open since 2000: Mickelson, Sergio Garcia, Els and Thomas Bjorn. The last runner-up of the event to then win the title was last year when Stenson won. He was the runner-up in 2013.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: