40 Packers Stats Until Opening Kickoff-August 19 (#22)

(From August 1 until the first regular season game against the Seattle Seahawks on September 10, we’ll give you a daily dose of Packers stats.)

Since the 2002 season when the NFL went to four divisions per conference with four teams in each division, the AFC East has been represented most in the conference championship games. Of course it helps that the New England Patriots, a team from the AFC East Division, has been to the AFC Conference Championship Game 10 times from 2002-16.

In somewhat of a surprise, the NFC division since 2002 with the most teams in the conference championship game has been the NFC South, with each of the four teams in that division (Atlanta, Carolina, New Orleans and Tampa Bay) appearing in the NFC Conference Championship Game at least once since 2002. The NFC South is the only conference to have each of its four teams appear in a conference title game at least once since 2002.

Following are the number of appearances in the AFC and NFC conference title games for each of the NFL’s 32 teams.

AFC East New England, 10 New York Jets, 2 Buffalo, 0 Miami, 0

AFC North Pittsburgh, 5 Baltimore, 2 Cincinnati, 0 Cleveland, 0

AFC South Indianapolis, 4 Tennessee, 1 Houston, 0 Jacksonville, 0

AFC West Denver, 3 Oakland, 1 San Diego, 1 Kansas City, 0

NFC East Philadelphia, 4 New York Giants, 2 Dallas, 0 Washington, 0

NFC North Green Bay 4 Chicago, 2 Minnesota, 1 Detroit, 0

NFC South Atlanta, 3 Carolina, 3 New Orleans, 2 Tampa Bay, 1

NFC West San Francisco, 3 Seattle, 3 Arizona, 2 L.A. Rams, 0


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: