Today’s Sports Stat-August 24, 2017

Baseball’s Wild Card races are starting to heat up with just over five weeks remaining in the 2017 season. In addition to the four teams that currently sit with the two Wild Card spots in each league (the Yankees and Twins in the A.L. and Arizona and Colorado in the N.L.), there are 10 teams within six games of the Wild Card spots.

Since 1994 when the Wild Card became a part of the MLB’s playoff picture, the Boston Red Sox have been a “Wild Card” team seven times, most in the majors. The Yankees are next with five times as the playoff’s Wild Card team.

Following are the number of times each of the 30 MLB franchises has won a Wild Card spot since 1994.

7: Boston

5: New York Yankees

3: Baltimore, Colorado, Houston, New York Mets, Pittsburgh, San Francisco, St. Louis

2: Atlanta, Chicago Cubs, Los Angeles Dodgers, Miami, Oakland, Tampa Bay

1: Cincinnati, Cleveland, Detroit, Kansas City, Los Angeles Angels, Milwaukee, Seattle, Texas, Toronto

0: Arizona, Chicago White Sox, Minnesota, Philadelphia, San Diego, Washington





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: