Today’s Sports Stat: December 16, 2017

With their overtime win over the Cleveland Browns last weekend, the Green Bay Packers won their third OT time of the year. In doing so, they broke the team record for most OT wins in a season, two, which they accomplished in 1983 and 2000. In addition, they became the 11th team in NFL history to win three overtime games in one season. The 2011 Arizona Cardinals hold the league record for most OT wins in a season with four.

Here are the teams that have won three or more overtime games in an NFL campaign.

1994: Detroit
1995: Kansas City
1997: Pittsburgh
2001: San Francisco
2002: San Diego
2003: Carolina
2010: Washington
2011: Arizona (4 wins), Denver
2015: Denver
2017: Green Bay

Of the 1o teams that won three OT games in a season prior to 2017, only one, the 2010 Redskins, finished the season under .500; they were 6-10 that year. The other nine teams either finished at .500 (8-8) or above .500.



Stats on Tapp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: