Today’s Sports Stat: January 3, 2018

There are a lot of new faces in the NFL playoffs this season. In the AFC, three teams that played in last year’s playoffs made it back this year: Kansas City, New England and Pittsburgh. New this year to the AFC playoffs are Buffalo, Jacksonville and Tennessee. In the NFC, only one team repeats from last season: Atlanta. The other five teams, Carolina, L.A. Rams, Minnesota, New Orleans and Philadelphia, did not play in last year’s post-season.

Of the 12 playoff teams this year, all have won a playoff game this century except for the Buffalo Bills. The last time Buffalo won a playoff game was in 1995 when they defeated the Miami Dolphins 37-22 in a Wild Card contest.

Here’s a look at the last season each of this year’s 12 playoff teams won a post-season game.

1995: Buffalo
2003: Tennessee
2004: L.A Rams
2007: Jacksonville
2008: Philadelphia
2009: Minnesota
2013: New Orleans
2015: Carolina, Kansas City
2016: Atlanta, New England, Pittsburgh

Buffalo has the fourth longest drought in the league when it comes to last playoff win. The Cincinnati Bengals hold that distinction as they have not won a playoff game since 1990. They are followed by the Detroit Lions, who last won a post-season game in 1991, and the Cleveland Browns who last won a playoff game in 1994. The Bengals, Lions, Browns and Bills are the only four NFL teams that have not won a playoff game this century.



Stats on Tapp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: