Today’s Sports Stat: March 9, 2018

With baseball’s spring training in full swing, each of the 30 MLB teams has a certain degree of optimism as they get ready for the 2018 campaign.

While each of the 30 teams may have the goal of making a post-season appearance this year, there will be 20 teams that will not reach the playoffs. And for some, reaching the playoffs may be a realistic goal, but winning a playoff series may be an even more daunting task.

Twenty-six of the 30 MLB franchises have won at least one playoff series this century. Four franchises, all in National League, have not won a post-season series since 2000, and for a pair of franchises, they have not won a playoff series in almost 40 years!

Following is a look at the last time each of the 30 franchises won a post-season series. (Note: For the sake of this stat, winning a one-game post-season series… i.e., Wild Card game… does not count.)

Last time they won a post-season series (3-game, 5-game,7-game)
1979: Pittsburgh

1981: Washington (Montreal)
1995: Cincinnati
1998: San Diego
2001: Atlanta, Seattle
2002: Minnesota
2003: Miami
2005: Chicago White Sox
2006: Oakland
2007: Arizona, Colorado
2008: Tampa Bay
2009: Los Angeles Angels
2010: Philadelphia
2011: Milwaukee, Texas
2013: Boston, Detroit
2014: Baltimore, St. Louis, San Francisco
2015: Kansas City, N.Y. Mets
2016: Cleveland, Toronto
2017: Chicago Cubs, Houston, L.A. Dodgers, N.Y. Yankees

The Pirates in 2014 and 2015 lost in one-game Wild Card contests. In 2013, they won a one-game Wild Card game and then lost to St. Louis in a five-game NLDS. From 1990-92, the Pirates lost three straight NLCS series. The last playoff series they won was in 1979 when they won the World Series that year.

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: