Category Archives: Uncategorized

Today’s Sports Stat: November 24, 2017

There was a time when going into Lambeau Field to play the Green Bay Packers meant certain defeat for opposing teams… not any more.

With consecutive home losses to Minnesota, New Orleans and Baltimore, the Packers have now lost three consecutive games at home in a season for the first time since 2006. And with a home game against the Tampa Bay Bucs on December 3, a potential fourth loss in a row at home looms large; the last time the Pack lost four straight at home in a season was back in 1991. (For the record, the Pack has never lost five straight at home in a single season!)

The team record for most consecutive losses at home is seven. It happened twice… from December 8, 1985 to November 9, 1986 and from November 21, 1976 to November 27, 1977.

Green Bay is currently 3-3 at home this season with two games remaining (they play the Vikings at Lambeau on December 23 in addition to the upcoming contest versus the Bucs). The last time the Packers finished below .500 at home was in 2006 when they were 3-5 (they also finished 3-5 at home the previous season). Since 1992 (the last 25 seasons), the Packers have finished under .500 at home in only those two seasons, a remarkable stretch of success at home.

A pair of wins in their final two home games would certainly help bring the Lambeau Field mystique back into play, but it’s safe to say that a win for the Packers at home is no longer a given these days.



Stats on Tapp





Today’s Sports Stat: November 22, 2017

A pair of NFL teams (Green Bay and Oakland) in Week #11 went into the locker room at halftime with a big, fat zero on the scoreboard. The Packers eventually lost 23-0 to Baltimore, while the Raiders lost to New England 33-8.

NFL teams this season are 2-24 (.077 winning percentage) in games where they do not score in the first half.

Let’s take a look at this stat going back to the 2010 season. Since 2010, NFL teams are 40-252-1 (.138) in regular season contests when they do not score a point in the first half. Three teams have had the most games of this nature since 2010… the Dolphins, Rams and Titans, each with 15 games. The Raiders are next on this list with 14 games, followed by the Ravens (13), Giants, Bears, Texans and Bucs (each with 12) and Minnesota with 11.

The New Orleans Saints have the fewest games since 2010 where they were scoreless at halftime with only two. Division-mates Atlanta is second with only four games. The only team with a winning percentage of .500 or above in games where they were held scoreless in the first half is New England; they are 3-3 (.500) in such games.

The Miami Dolphins have the most games this season where they haven’t scored in the first half with four.


Stats on Tapp


Today’s Sports Stat: November 18, 2017

The Boston Celtics go for their 15th straight win tonight in Atlanta versus the Hawks. The Celtics are looking to become the 42nd team in NBA history to have a streak of 15 or more consecutive regular season wins.

This year’s team is also hoping to become the sixth Celtics team to win 15 straight. The 2008-09 Celtics won a team record 19 straight. They also won 15 or more regular season contests in 1981-82 (18), 1964-65 (16), 1959-60 (17), and won 15 straight over two seasons in 1956-57 and 1957-58. It’s interesting to note that the ’09 and ’82 teams did not make the finals that season. The 1960 and 1965 teams won the title that year; the ’57 team won the title and the ’58 team lost in the finals.

If the Celts can win 15 straight for the sixth time in their history, they would tie the Lakers for most streaks of 15 or more wins by an NBA franchise with six. Following are the NBA franchises that have had regular season winning streaks of 15 or more games two or more times.

6 (winning streaks of 15 or more): L.A. Lakers

5: Boston

3: Houston, Milwaukee, San Antonio, Washington

2: Golden State, New York Knicks, Phoenix, Portland, Utah.


Stats on Tapp


Today’s Sports Stat: November 17, 2017

Washington pitcher Max Scherzer won the National League Cy Young Award for the second consecutive season. He becomes the ninth pitcher in MLB history to win that award in back-to-back seasons.

The other eight pitchers: Sandy Koufax (1965-1966), Jim Palmer (1975-1976), Roger Clemens (1986-1987; 1997-1998), Greg Maddux (1992-1995), Randy Johnson (1999-2002), Pedro Martinez (1999-2000), Tim Lincecum (2008-2009), Clayton Kershaw (2013-2014), Max Scherzer (2016-17).

Scherzer also became the 10th starting pitcher to win a Cy Young Award with 16 or fewer regular season wins. Fernando Valenzuela (1981) and Felix Hernandez (2010) each won Cy Young awards with 13 wins, the fewest wins for a starting pitcher to win the honor.

The 10 starting pitchers that won the Cy Young with 16 or fewer wins: Fernando Valenzuela (13 win in 1981), Rick Sutcliffe (16-1984), David Cone (16-1994), Greg Maddux (16-1996), Brandon Webb (16-2006), Tim Lincecum (15-2009), Zack Greinke (16-2009), Felix Hernandez (13-2010), Clayton Kershaw (16-2013), Max Scherzer (16-2017).

Scherzer also became the 10th pitcher in MLB history to win the Cy Young Award three times. Roger Clemens tops this category as a seven-time honoree. The 10 players to win three or more Cy Youngs: Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Steve Carlton, Greg Maddux, Sandy Koufax, Pedro Martinez, Jim Palmer, Tom Seaver, Clayton Kershaw and Scherzer. Of the 10 listed, seven are in the Hall of Fame… Scherzer and Kershaw are still active; Clemens has not been voted in to the Hall.


Stats on Tapp