40 Packers Stats Until Kickoff-August 21 (#20)

(From August 1 until the first regular season game against the Seattle Seahawks on September 10, we’ll give you a daily dose of Packers stats.)

For the third consecutive season, the Packers had a player gain 300 or more yards rushing and 300 or more yards receiving in the same season. Ty Montgomery had 457 rushing yards and 348 receiving yards in 2016. James Starks reached 300-300 in 2015; Eddie Lacy did it in 2014.

Sixteen different Packers players have reached the 300-300 rushing/receiving stat in the club’s history, accomplishing it 30 times. Leading the way is Ahman Green who did it five times in his career with the Pack. Donny Anderson and Gerry Ellie each did it four times with the Packers, while Edgar Bennett did it in three seasons.

Bennett and Ellis are the only two Packers to have a 600-600 season (600 yards rushing and 600 yards receiving) for Green Bay. Ellis in 1983 had 696 yards rushing and 603 yards receiving; Bennett in 1995 rushed for 1067 yards and added 648 yards receiving to his stat line.

If we look at career numbers, the Packers have three players who reached the 2000-2000 stat in rushing yards and receiving yards in their career with Green Bay. They are:
Dorsey Levens, 3937 rushing yards, 2079 receiving yards
Ahman Green, 8322 rushing yards, 2726 receiving yards
Gerry Ellis, 3826 rushing yards, 2514 receiving yards.

Today’s Sports Stat-August 20, 2017

Even though they are 20 games behind the Los Angeles Dodgers in the National League West race, the Colorado Rockies currently hold the #1 spot for one of the two the N.L. wild cards.

The Rockies were not a pre-season pick to make the playoffs, but one aspect of their play that has impressed experts is their starting pitching, and specifically, the work of a trio of rookie hurlers. Rockies rookie pitchers have started 77 of Colorado’s 123 games this season.

Kyle Freeland, German Marquez and Antonio Senzatela have each won 10 games in their rookie campaigns (Freeland leads the group with 11 victories) and another rookie, Jeff Hoffman, has started 16 games for the club and has six wins.

The Rockies rookie trio is the first since the 2006 Florida Marlins to win 10 or more games in their first seasons. The Marlins had four rookie pitchers win 10 or more games in the ’06 season: Josh Johnson (12), Ricky Nolasco (11), Scott Olsen (12) and Anibal Sanchez (10).

Here’s a look at the number of rookie pitchers who won 10 or more games in a season for each club since 2000:

7: Rays, Rockies, Twins
6: A’s, Braves, Marlins, Orioles
5: Angels
4: Astros, Blue Jays, Brewers, Diamondbacks, Dodgers, Indians, Rangers, Tigers
3: Cardinals, Giants, Phillies, Yankees
2: Mets, Pirates, Red Sox, Royals
1: Cubs, Mariners, Nationals, Padres
0: Reds, White Sox

40 Packers Stats Until Opening Kickoff-August 20 (#21)

(From August 1 until the first regular season game against the Seattle Seahawks on September 10, we’ll give you a daily dose of Packers stats.)

In the Packers pre-season game versus the Redskins on August 19, the Aaron Rodgers-led first-team offense scored in the first quarter on their first possession. It was a 15-play, 75-yards drive with Rodgers completing a TD pass to Martellus Bennett for the TD. The Pack went on to take a 7-3 lead at the end of the first quarter and won the game, 21-17.

Scoring in the first quarter has been an important part of the Packers game over the past decade. Last season, the Packers scored in the first quarter in 12 of the 16 regular season games, tied for second most in the NFL (the Patriots scored in the first quarter in 14 of their 16 games in 2016). Green Bay was 8-4 in those games (.667 winning percentage).

NFL teams that score in the first quarter were 195-127-2 last season (.605 winning percentage).

Since Rodgers took over as the starting QB (in the 2008 season), the Packers have scored in the first quarter in 104 games, tied for second most in the league (New England was first on the list with 108). The Pack was 71-32-1 (.688) in those games. The league average from 2008-16 when teams scored in the first quarter was .593.

In the last 30 games where the Packers scored in the first quarter, they are 22-8 (.733).

Today’s Sports Stat-August 19, 2017

Seattle’s Nelson Cruz slugged his 30th HR of the season yesterday, the fourth consecutive year that he has hit 30 or more home runs in a season (he has a current streak of three consecutive seasons with 40 home runs).

He may, however, have his eye on reaching 40 for the 2017 season. If he can reach 40 HRs by the end of this year, he would not only become the 26th player in MLB history to have four 40-HR seasons, but he would also become only the 15th player in baseball history to have four consecutive 40-HR seasons.

Babe Ruth tops the list of 40-HR seasons with 11, followed by Alex Rodriguez, Barry Bonds, Harmon Killebrew and Hank Aaron with eight.

Ruth also holds the record for most consecutive 40-HR seasons with seven. Here are the 15 players who have hit 40 home runs in four or more consecutive seasons.

7: Babe Ruth

6: Alex Rodriguez, Sammy Sosa

5: Barry Bonds, Adam Dunn, Ken Griffey, Jr., Ralph Kiner, Duke Snider

4: Ernie Banks, Ryan Howard, Harmon Killebrew, Mark McGwire, Albert Pujols, Jim Thome




40 Packers Stats Until Opening Kickoff-August 19 (#22)

(From August 1 until the first regular season game against the Seattle Seahawks on September 10, we’ll give you a daily dose of Packers stats.)

Since the 2002 season when the NFL went to four divisions per conference with four teams in each division, the AFC East has been represented most in the conference championship games. Of course it helps that the New England Patriots, a team from the AFC East Division, has been to the AFC Conference Championship Game 10 times from 2002-16.

In somewhat of a surprise, the NFC division since 2002 with the most teams in the conference championship game has been the NFC South, with each of the four teams in that division (Atlanta, Carolina, New Orleans and Tampa Bay) appearing in the NFC Conference Championship Game at least once since 2002. The NFC South is the only conference to have each of its four teams appear in a conference title game at least once since 2002.

Following are the number of appearances in the AFC and NFC conference title games for each of the NFL’s 32 teams.

AFC East New England, 10 New York Jets, 2 Buffalo, 0 Miami, 0

AFC North Pittsburgh, 5 Baltimore, 2 Cincinnati, 0 Cleveland, 0

AFC South Indianapolis, 4 Tennessee, 1 Houston, 0 Jacksonville, 0

AFC West Denver, 3 Oakland, 1 San Diego, 1 Kansas City, 0

NFC East Philadelphia, 4 New York Giants, 2 Dallas, 0 Washington, 0

NFC North Green Bay 4 Chicago, 2 Minnesota, 1 Detroit, 0

NFC South Atlanta, 3 Carolina, 3 New Orleans, 2 Tampa Bay, 1

NFC West San Francisco, 3 Seattle, 3 Arizona, 2 L.A. Rams, 0