Tag Archives: 95-win season

MLB teams with 95 wins in a season


Four MLB teams this season finished with 95 or more wins: St. Louis (100), Pittsburgh (98), the Chicago Cubs (97) and Kansas City (95). Of the four, only the Royals advanced to the World Series, winning the title over the New York Mets.

The Cardinals finished with 95-plus wins for the 21st time in franchise history. This places them second on the MLB list with most 95-win seasons; the New York Yankees top the list with 46 seasons with 95 wins.

Here’s a breakdown of the number of 95-win seasons by each MLB franchise since 1901 (there have been 272 teams reach this milestone). Note: The franchise listed is the current MLB team.

46: N.Y. Yankees
21: St. Louis
19: Oakland
18: L.A. Dodgers, San Francisco
17: Boston
14: Pittsburgh
13: Baltimore
12: Atlanta, Cincinnati
11: Chicago Cubs
10: Detroit
7: Chicago White Sox, Cleveland, Minnesota
6: N.Y. Mets
5: L.A. Angels, Philadelphia
4: Toronto
3: Houston, Kansas City, Milwaukee, Washington
2: Arizona, Tampa Bay, Texas
1: San Diego, Seattle
0: Colorado, Miami

For the World Champion Royals, this was the first 95-win season since 1980. Other than the Rockies and Marlins who have never won 95 or more games in a season, the Royals previously had the longest drought for 95 wins prior to this year. That honor now belongs to the Toronto Blue Jays who have not had a 95-win season since 1993.

Here are the seven teams that have not had a 95-win season in the last 10 years (since 2005): Arizona (2002), Chicago White Sox (2005), Houston (1999), San Diego (1998), San Francisco (2003), Seattle (2001) and Toronto (1993).

Finally, of the 272 teams that won 95 or more games in a season, 143 of those teams went on to play in the World Series that season with 74 winning the title that year.

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp