Tag Archives: Aaron Judge

Today’s Sports Stat-June 26


A pair of rookie outfielders already have over 50 RBI this season and could make a serious run at a 100-RBI season in 2017: The Yankees’ Aaron Judge (59) and the Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger (55).

Since 1901, there have been 43 rookies who reached 100 RBI in a season. The last player was the White Sox Jose Abreu who had 107 RBI in his rookie season in 2014. The other 100-RBI rookies this century are Ryan Zimmerman (2006), Hideki Matsui (2003) and Albert Pujols (2001).

The rookie record for most RBI in a season is held by Ted Williams with 145 in 1939. Walt Dropo is second on the list with 144 in 1950.



Can Aaron Judge become the third player to win a league ROY and MVP in the same season?

One of the big stories (pun intended) of the 2017 baseball season is the New York Yankees rookie Aaron Judge. The six-foot-seven Judge currently leads the majors with 23 HRs, 60 runs scored, and tops the bigs in the on-base percentage stat.

Judge, who plays the outfield, has been receiving attention as the odd-on favorite to win the A.L. Rookie of the Year this season and has been mentioned as a leading candidate for the league MVP. With the Yankees sitting atop the A.L. East, Judge has been a major reason for their resurgence this season and would receive significant consideration.

Should Judge win the A.L. ROY and the A.L. MVP in 2017, he would become only the third player in baseball history to win both those awards in the same season. The others: Boston’s Fred Lynn in 1975 and Seattle’s Ichiro Suzuki in 2001.

Let’s take a quick look at the players who won a league ROY Award and finished in the Top Five in the league MVP that same season. All total, there are 13 players who fit the category.

Won league ROY and won league MVP
1975: Fred Lynn, A.L.
2001: Ichiro Suzuki, A.L.

Won league ROY and finished second in league MVP
2012: Mike Trout, A.L.

Won league ROY and finished third in league MVP
1948: Alvin Dark, N.L.
1952: Joe Black, N.L.
2016: Corey Seager, N.L.

Won league ROY and finished fourth in league MVP
1964: Tony Oliva, A.L.
1972: Carlton Fisk, A.L.
2001: Albert Pujols, N.L.
2014: Jose Abreu, A.L.

Won league ROY and finished fifth in league MVP
1947: Jackie Robinson, N.L.
1960: Ron Hansen, A.L.
1981: Fernando Valenzuela, N.L.