Tag Archives: Khris Middleton

Today’s Sportstat: February 15, 2020

Antetokounmpo, Middleton represent Bucks at 2020 NBA All-Star Game

The 2020 NBA All-Star Game will be played Sunday at the United Center in Chicago. The Bucks will have a pair of players in the contest: Giannis Antetokounmpo and Khris Middleton.

Middleton became the 12th Bucks player in team history to make the NBA All-Star Game two or more times in his career with the Bucks. Giannis, on the other hand, became only the fourth Bucks player to make four or more All-Star appearances in a career with the team.

In the Bucks history, 19 different players have made a total of 45 appearances in the All-Star Game. Leading the way is Kareem Abdul-Jabbar who, as a member of the Milwaukee Bucks, made six appearances in the mid-season contest.

Here is a look at the 19 Bucks players who have been chosen to play in the NBA All-Star Game.

6 appearances: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

5 appearances: Sidney Moncrief

4 appearances: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Marques Johnson

3 appearances: Ray Allen, Vin Baker, Bobby Dandridge

2 appearances: Terry Cummings, Khris Middleton, Oscar Robertson, Glenn Robinson, Brian Winters

1 appearance: Bob Lanier, Jon McGlocklin, Ricky Pierce, Jim Price, Michael Redd, Alvin Robertson, Flynn Robinson

For the record, the only time the NBA All-Star Game was played in Milwaukee was in 1977 at the Milwaukee Arena. There were no Bucks in that game. Former Bucks draft choice Julius Erving was the MVP of that game. He was the first-round choice of the Bucks (12th overall pick) in the 1972 draft.



Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp

Today’s Sports Stat: March 8, 2018

Here’s a quick trivia question for you…

The last time the Milwaukee Bucks had three players score 25 or more points in the same game was on March 9, 2012. Can you name those three players? Answer at the end of this column.

When the Bucks earlier this season acquired Eric Bledsoe from Phoenix, the hope was that he would give the Bucks a formidable “Big Three” when the Bucks were on offense. As of today, the jury is still out on whether or not that has been accomplished, but the “Big Three” is each averaging over 17 points per game: Giannis Antetokounmpo is at 27.2 points per game; Khris Middleton is averaging 19.7 per game; and Bledsoe is scoring at a 17.6 points per game clip.

Four times in Bucks history the team has had three players average 18 or more points per game (minimum of 40 games played to qualify for the list) in a season. The four times:

2001-02: Ray Allen (21.8), Sam Cassell (19.7), Glenn Robinson (20.7)

2000-01: Ray Allen (22.0), Sam Cassell (18.2), Glenn Robinson (22.0)

1999-2000: Ray Allen (22.1), Sam Cassell (18.6), Glenn Robinson (20.9)

1970-71: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (31.7), Bob Dandridge (18.40, Oscar Robertson (19.4)

Answer to the trivia question: The last three Bucks players to score 25 or more points in the same game were Mike Dunleavy (25), Ersan Ilyasova (26) and Brandon Jennings (25) on March 19, 2012.


Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp

Six Stats you may not know about… Milwaukee Bucks ‘stealing’ more wins last season

Khris Middleton led the Bucks in steals last season

Khris Middleton led the Bucks in steals last season

One of the big reasons the Bucks went from 15 wins in 2013-14 to 41 wins last season was an increased emphasis on defense under new head coach Jason Kidd, and specifically improving their numbers in steals.  Here’s six stats you may not know about that improvement in steals.

  1. The Bucks went from 26th in the league in total steals in 2013-14 to first in that category last season. They led the NBA with 9.6 steals per game.

2. Khris Middleton led the team with 123 steals. He became the 29th player in Bucks history to have over 100 steals in a season. His 123 steals places him in a tie for 27th place on the team’s all-time single-season steals list.

3. The last Bucks player to get 100 or more steals in a season was Monta Ellis in 2012-13. He had 169 steals that season.

4. Twenty-nine Bucks players had 100 or more steals in a season in a total of 67 seasons. Topping the list is Quinn Buckner who had over 100 steals in six seasons. Those Bucks players with 100 or more steals in the most seasons: Marques Johnson, Sidney Moncrief and Paul Pressey (five seasons); Terry Cummings, Jay Humphries and Brian Winters (four seasons).

5. Alvin Robertson holds the Bucks single-season record for most steals with 246 in 1990-91. He had more than 200 steals in three seasons with the Bucks, the only Milwaukee player to have over 200 steals in a season.

6. Led by Robertson in 1989-90, 1990-91 and 1991-92, the Bucks led the league in steals in those seasons. Last season was the first time they led the league in steals since that 1991-92 campaign.

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp