Tag Archives: MLB All-Star Game

Today’s Sports Stat-July 12, 2017


The American League won the All-Star Game 2-1 last night on a Robinson Cano home run in the 10th inning.

It was the 10th time in ASG history that there were only three or fewer runs scored in the game. The last time was in 2013 when the American League won 3-0.

Of the 10 times that three or fewer runs were scored in an ASG, the A.L. has won five, the N.L. four, and there has been one tie (in 1961). The A.L. has won four straight games when three or fewer runs were scored in the ASG.

Of the 10 times there were three or fewer runs scored in the ASG, it has happened seven times in a National League park. That was the case last night on the Miami Marlins homefield.





Can the All-Star Game winner predict the World Series winner that year


Can the winner of the MLB All-Star Game predict whether the A.L. or N.L. team will win the World Series that year?

In the last 30 years when there was a winner for the MLB All-Star Game and the World Series in the same year (in 1994 a players’ strike cancelled the World Series and in 2002 the All-Star Game ended in a tie) 17 of those seasons the same league won the ASG and World Series. Last season the A.L. won the ASG, but the N.L. Cubs won the World Series.

The same league has won the ASG and World Series in 10 of the last 16 years, and in five of the last seven. A trend?





Today’s Sports Stat-July 3, 2017



Brewers closer Corey Knebel will be the team’s lone representative in the MLB All-Star Game next Tuesday. Knebel becomes the 19th pitcher in team history to be selected to the ASG.

The only Brewers pitcher(s):

… to figure in the decision was Rollie Fingers; he took the loss for the American League in the 1981 All-Star Game.

… to start an ASG was Ben Sheets in 2008.

… to pitch three or more innings in one ASG were Teddy Higuera (1986) and Lary Sorensen (1978).

… selected to multiple All-Star Games were Ben Sheets (2001, 2004, 2007, 2008), Dan Plesac (1987, 1988, 1989), Rollie Fingers (1981, 1982) and Francisco Rodriguez (2014, 2015).




10 Facts You May Not Know About MLB All-Star Game MVPs


The MLB All-Star Game will be played tonight in San Diego. Here’s a look at 10 facts you may not know about MLB All-Star Game (ASG) MVPs since it was first awarded in 1962.

  1. Maury Wills was the first recipient of the ASG MVP in 1962. That was the same year that he was voted the National League MVP after batting .299 and stealing 104 bases.
  2. Five players have won the award twice: Gary Carter, Steve Garvey, Willie Mays, Cal Ripken, Jr., and Mike Trout. As the winner of the ASG MVP the last two years, Trout is the only player to win back-to-back honors. Ripken had the longest span in between awards… 10 years.
  3. Sixteen different players won the ASG MVP and are members of Baseball’s Hall of Fame: Roberto Alomar, Gary Carter, Ken Griffey, Jr., Juan Marichal, Pedro Martinez, Willie Mays, Willie McCovey, Joe Morgan, Tony Perez, Cal Ripken, Jr., Mike Piazza, Kirby Puckett, Brooks Robinson, Frank Robinson, Don Sutton and Carl Yastrzemski.
  4. The Baltimore Orioles and San Francisco Giants are tied for the most MVP awards with six. Cincinnati is next with five; the Red Sox and Angels have each had players win four ASG MVP awards.
  5. Outfielders have won 24 of the 55 ASG MVPs. Infielders have won 18, the battery combo of pitchers and catchers have won 13.
  6. The American League has the lead in MVPs with 28, one more than the N.L.
  7. Four players won the ASG MVP in their only ASG appearance: Melky Cabrera, J.D. Drew, LaMarr Hoyt and Bo Jackson.
  8. As mentioned above, Trout is the only player to win the award in back-to-back years. Teammates have won the award back-to-back twice: 1968-Mays, 1969-McCovey; 1977-Sutton, 1978-Garvey.
  9. There was no MVP awarded in 2002; that was the ASG played in Milwaukee that ended in a tie.
  10. Two players won the ASG MVP even though they played for the team that lost the game: Brooks Robinson in 1966 and Carl Yastrzemski in 1970.